AccessPORT after a pro tune? - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 05-28-2011, 03:14 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 3
nick2233 is an unknown
AccessPORT after a pro tune?

i just got an 04 wagon with a vf22 turbo and a sti tmic. The guy said it was tuned so would getting an accessport do anything? would it give me more HP?
nick2233 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-28-2011, 05:35 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
turmic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,368
Images: 6
turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to
Send a message via AIM to turmic
You double posted. Read my responce in your other thread.

Kirt
378awhp/373wtq Custom Dom 3 & CBRD tuned 2006 STI.
"When in doubt...flat out" - Colin McRae
turmic is offline  
#3 Old 05-29-2011, 01:49 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,318
Images: 9
brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to
Garage
Er, you can't have a protune unless you have an Accessport.
brfatal is online now  
#4 Old 05-29-2011, 01:31 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
bad grocerygetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 453
Images: 2
bad grocerygetter is a helpful contributing member
You wouldn't need it unless you want the extra features, like launch control or the data logging stuff. Honestly Im not sure but it may not even have an off the shelf map for that setup anyways. Even if it did it wouldn't be as good of a tune as what you have. So no it won't give you more power unless the person that tuned your car was asleep when he was tuning it. ;-)

Kevin.
Cobb ap stage 2 ots, catless uppipe, catless turboback, Cobb Sf intake.
bad grocerygetter is offline  
#5 Old 05-29-2011, 04:54 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 3
nick2233 is an unknown
ok thanks guys! also im wondering if you can control the boost with a accessport?
nick2233 is offline  
#6 Old 05-29-2011, 11:39 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,318
Images: 9
brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to
Garage
You don't need to be touching boost levels.
brfatal is online now  
#7 Old 05-30-2011, 03:22 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
bad grocerygetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 453
Images: 2
bad grocerygetter is a helpful contributing member
+1^ but to answer your question....no you can not. The ecu does it just fine.

Kevin.
Cobb ap stage 2 ots, catless uppipe, catless turboback, Cobb Sf intake.
bad grocerygetter is offline  
#8 Old 05-30-2011, 10:23 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
turmic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,368
Images: 6
turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to
Send a message via AIM to turmic
I think what is confusing some people. Is this what he asked in his other thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick2233 View Post
i just got an 04 wrx wagon. has a vf22 turbo sti top mount up pipe down pipe intake. the previous owner claims he had it tuned but has no proof. its boosting at 11 lbs now. Would getting a cobb accessport give me more hp? or since it is tuned will it make any difference? Also how can i increase my boost?
THANKS
So, he is asking should he get a AP after a protune. Which he could have a OS tune on his car now or no tune. He should just ask his tuner which EM he prefers to protune on. But, sadly if he doesn't want the features of the AP then a OS tune would be a lot cheaper. Because he's just buying a AP to do nothing but have a custom protuned map slapped right on it.

Kirt
378awhp/373wtq Custom Dom 3 & CBRD tuned 2006 STI.
"When in doubt...flat out" - Colin McRae
turmic is offline  
#9 Old 06-02-2011, 08:33 PM
WRXpert
 
dumdum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,800
Images: 12
dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention
Urban Dictionary: ProTUNE

Hence Cobb's "Protuner" software. If you got a "professional tune" or a "custom tune" thats one thing. The phrase "Protune" was coined by Cobb and their software. No one,regardless of what engine management or vehicle, used the term "Protune" until Cobb came along. You don't get "Protuned" on a Utec,Ecutek, or Opensource. You get "Protuned" on Cobb's "Protuner" software which requires an Accessport. This is where the confusion is.

Homebrewed tuned with Opensource!
dumdum is offline  
#10 Old 06-02-2011, 10:24 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
turmic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,368
Images: 6
turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to
Send a message via AIM to turmic
WB dum dum

Kirt
378awhp/373wtq Custom Dom 3 & CBRD tuned 2006 STI.
"When in doubt...flat out" - Colin McRae
turmic is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On