Need advice on new clutch - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 12-03-2007, 04:10 PM
WRXtuners Member

zacwrx07 is an unknown
Need advice on new clutch

I got an 07 WRX and I need a new clutch. Please don't tell me about my driving I have heard it enough so I feel bad enough. I took it to the dealership and they said warranty won't cover it and said it would be 2043.00 to replace stock clutch. I know I can get an upgraded clutch for that price. Can anyone give me some advice on what to get and what all I need? If I get a stg2 clutch kit do I have to upgrade the flywheel? Help me out I am new to this and have no idea what I'm doing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-03-2007, 04:20 PM
WRXtuners Member

wrxman420 is more helpful than not
With a stock tranny you are going to want a stock clutch. Aftermarket clutch's will put premature ware on your transmission, and after a little while you will end up with an even bigger problem. $2043 sounds like a lot of $$ to just replace a clutch, i would try getting some quotes from other places. My dealer quoted me 850 to replace my clutch including install.
#3 Old 12-03-2007, 05:26 PM
WRXtuners Member

SWFL Scooby is an unknown
$2043????????????????????????????????????? Insane

D-Rock
Under constant pressure
#4 Old 12-03-2007, 06:29 PM
WRXtuners Member

TwoCobras is an unknown
That's a ridiculous price.

You can run an aftermarket clutch no problem with a stock transmission. You just have be aware that you now have a clutch that will take a lot more abuse than will the stock clutch. If you drive in a reasonable manner, it won't make a difference. But if you slip the clutch, then, yes, your transmission is going to complain.