Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   The Hangout (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f56/)
-   -   Theoretical Subaru Supercar Build Ideas (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f56/theoretical-subaru-supercar-build-ideas-33631/)

mickeymxl81 02-22-2013 11:15 AM

Theoretical Subaru Supercar Build Ideas

Wats up...well Im one of those guys who likes to think up some crazy build ideas and see if it is theoretically possible, mostly because when I take my adderall I think of some crazy shit and since im an engineering tech and draft drawings for a living I actually start my own CAD blueprints just for the geeky fun of it...Well I have been toying with the Idea of a Subaru Supercar. My idea is to take an old Pontiac Fiero GT and convert it into a kit car with a subaru inspired look and powertrain...I have the Stock Fiero modeled out of Mudbox and Im thinking of the best engine/transmission combination to model and possibly build sometime. My requirements are stock engine/ stock transmission combination placed in a rear engine rear drive platform with a basic horsepower between 250 to 300 hp that can be upgraded to a maximum hp of 500 to 600 hp. So far the idea for the transmission is to use the Front wheel axles for the drive and block the rear drive with a free gear and plate system much like people use in sandrail/buggy configurations. I know I would prefer Manual Transmission but am worried about how the linkage for the shifter would work and in leui would an automatic transmission be less of a hassle? Another one is what type Engine to start with? Here is a list of my ideas:
1. EJ257/Sti transmission (obviously)
2. EJ255/ WRX transmission
3. EJ205/ WRX transmission
4. EG33/ WRX transmission (my fave bc its cheapest idea)
5. EZ30/ WRX transmission
6. EZ36/ WRX transmission(largest subaru motor by displacement)

I also would like twin turbo ideas and what kind of turbos would be easy and most powerful for these type engines.