My 1st WRX. Which specific car do I buy? Stock or not? - Subaru WRX Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 05-14-2013, 08:36 PM
WRXtuners Member

sooner190 is an unknown
My 1st WRX. Which specific car do I buy? Stock or not?

I've read so many of this forum's great threads and have finally decided to post myself. I am about to buy my first Subaru and am very excited but I just don't know what car to buy. Iím a law student with little free time, a strict budget, & 2 more years before graduation. I have okay car knowledge & have always done my own work, but I'm far from a pro & have never worked on a Subaru.

That said, my requirements:
Price: $10,000 or less
Reliability: must last at least 2 years (20,000 miles) without any major problems
Performance: the best I can get within the budget & reliability parameters (which may be stock), but I do plan to do small things like exhaust, cobb tuner, & maybe suspension & intake (as my budget & craigslist availability allows) in the first 2 years. Iíll save the real fun for after graduation.
Type: I want an STi, but my budget makes this, at best, quite doubtful. I prefer the 04-05 body, but will settle with a bugeye or 06-07 if it really wins on value.
Location: I live in Oklahoma City & would prefer to buy local, but am willing to travel to buy if the car is in my budget after travel costs.

=> MY SPECIFIC QUESTION: What car do I buy & what should I pay??!?

Let me know if you know of a car that you think I should buy!
Here are my top 2 options thus far: (I may add others depending on thread responses)

04 WRX: dealer is asking $10000, 84046 miles, appears completely stock & unmodified, black. 2 owner carfax that appears clean, owner 1 had it only 3k miles in IL & owner 2 was in CO.