Subaru WRX Forum banner

handling on the WRX

3K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  Nose Nuggets 
#1 ·
i'm still relatively new my WRX and i came from a civic w/ springs, struts, and strutbar.
my question is about how a WRX handles, because it still feels really different to me. i always hear how WRX handle well but i still don't feel confident with it and don't want to push my luck on public roads. maybe it's the bodyroll.

what are the handling characteristics of this car? does the rear differential do anything besides powering the rear wheels? is there some kind of LSD?

if i'm exiting a turn and the gas is floored are my tires going to break lose? i'm also new to handling a car with 230hp and turbo lag. i'm just trying to figure out why i felt safer in my civic than this car

#2 ·
:) Wrx have understeer, if you are having understeer in the middle of the turn and suddently release the throttle it will have a bite of oversteer sometime. It have some tourqe steering too. when you exit the corner the tires may break loose sometime, Usually it happen in the 2nd gear. when the tires are break lossing, the car will slide to the outside a bite.And because it only have a rear lsd. when you exiting the corner the front is more like pushing to the outside, if turn more on the steerwheel when it happen, the rpm will drop. So I think when you throttle in the corner dont push all the way down, give some gas and make sure the car is griping the road frist.

#3 ·