Whats the difeference? [BOV and waist gate] - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 01-25-2006, 11:34 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

poser is an unknown
Whats the difeference? [BOV and waist gate]

I'm still very new to the world of turbo charged engines, and I have a question. What is the difference between a blowoff valve and a waste gate? Do they perform basically the same function? where are the two different units mounted? in the same or different spot? I have a friend who has a first gen eclipse [350 hp at the wheels, insainly fast] and he told me he installed a waist gate, but for some reason I was thinking it did the same as a BOV.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-26-2006, 01:47 AM
WRXtuners Member

9d2TSi is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to 9d2TSi Send a message via MSN to 9d2TSi
The blow off valve, or bov, is a spring-loaded valve mounted in between the turbocharger and throttle body that opens at a preset pressure. It's function is to provide an escape route for pressurized air trapped in the intake system when the turbocharger is spinning and the throttle plate suddenly closes.

The wastegate is a valve that allows the exhaust to bypass the turbine blades. The wastegate senses the boost pressure. If the pressure gets too high, it could be an indicator that the turbine is spinning too quickly, so the wastegate bypasses some of the exhaust around the turbine blades, allowing the blades to slow down.

My car is well, it's like 10 lbs of shit in a 5 lb bag...

<------ Click to see what I'm workin' with. ;)
post #3 of 7 Old 01-26-2006, 08:06 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

poser is an unknown
ah I understand, the blow off valve releives the pressure when the throtle is let off, and the wastegate releives pressure when the turbo is spinning [thottle on] to help the turbo work more efficiantly. is that about right?
post #4 of 7 Old 01-26-2006, 11:30 AM
WRXpert