up pipe question - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 06-24-2009, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
scoobyrooftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 73
Images: 1
scoobyrooftw is an unknown
up pipe question

im going to be installing a turboxs uppipe this weekend and i have a question. the one i got doesnt have a place for the egt sensor. what am i supposed to do about it? the instructins on theyre website didnt mention it. thanks
scoobyrooftw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-24-2009, 05:25 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
07VTRex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 71
07VTRex is an unknown
your uppipe doesnt need an egt sensor unless you want to run one. If thats the case you need to get the pipe "tapped" or drilled/threaded at a machinist shop
07VTRex is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-24-2009, 06:20 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 116
Jcarv20 is an unknown
you don't install it bud, if you have an accessport it'll make sure you don't throw a code
Jcarv20 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 06-24-2009, 06:52 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 156
04wrxhart is an unknown
If you dont have an accessport, go to radio shack, buy a 1/2 watt 2.2ohm resistor. they come like 5 to a pack or something, its only like 50 cents. cut the tips down a little and stick it in the click where the EGT sensor plugs into. that will make your ecu think your egt is still plugged in and it will not throw a cel. Dont forget to put some electrical tape on the end of the electrical connector that you put yours resistor in.
04wrxhart is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-24-2009, 07:40 PM
Moderator
 
newtothegame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,493
Images: 4
newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame
Dont run your EGT in there. Aside from the cat getting sucked into your turbo, so could your EGT probe. So get rid of the cat and the probe both.

Joshua
"2007 WRX- PPG'd, 20G- Tim Bailey tuned
Stage 2 2005 WRX
Cobbtuning.com"
newtothegame is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 06-24-2009, 08:08 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
scoobyrooftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 73
Images: 1
scoobyrooftw is an unknown
i guess i wont be using it. even tho i have an egt gauge lol. the uppipe came with a lil wire thing. is that the resistor thing?
scoobyrooftw is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 06-24-2009, 10:39 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
baller_v24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,469
baller_v24 is known to be trustworthy and helpful baller_v24 is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to baller_v24
If it looks like this then yea that's the resistor.

Photobucket

If you follow the sensor to where it connects to, disconnect it at the connecting point and put the resistor on the female side like so:

Photobucket

rollin on 17's now and they're dirty
baller_v24 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-24-2009, 11:02 PM
Moderator
 
newtothegame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,493
Images: 4
newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame
You dont want to read your EGT from there anyways.

Joshua
"2007 WRX- PPG'd, 20G- Tim Bailey tuned
Stage 2 2005 WRX
Cobbtuning.com"
newtothegame is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-25-2009, 05:57 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
scoobyrooftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 73
Images: 1
scoobyrooftw is an unknown
thats not what they sent me. so i guess ill be stopping at radioshack after work today. thanks guys
scoobyrooftw is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 06-25-2009, 03:45 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
scoobyrooftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 73
Images: 1
scoobyrooftw is an unknown
i went to radio shack today and they didnt have 2.2 ohm resistors. they did have 2.2k ohm which is what i got. will that work?
scoobyrooftw is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 06-25-2009, 04:14 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 454
Images: 1
VisiX is a helpful contributing member
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobyrooftw View Post
i went to radio shack today and they didnt have 2.2 ohm resistors. they did have 2.2k ohm which is what i got. will that work?
If it is 1/2 watt 2.2k ohm then it is correct.
VisiX is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 06-25-2009, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
scoobyrooftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 73
Images: 1
scoobyrooftw is an unknown
ok sweet. i was hoping that was the case
scoobyrooftw is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-11-2009, 06:24 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3
A-Funkster is an unknown
I believe to get the most accurate EGT reading you will want to tap into the #4 runner on the exhaust manifold.
A-Funkster is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-12-2009, 01:19 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
jed344's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 147
Images: 3
jed344 is an unknown
i think you are correct
jed344 is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On