Is a new ECU a must? - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 01-26-2006, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
poser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 359
poser is an unknown
Is a new ECU a must?

Lets say i start upgrading my exhaust. I'm thinking DP, CB, then UP. Do I need to upgrade the ECU for the car to run properly? or is it just a benefit that allows you to squeeze more power out of it?
poser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-26-2006, 11:44 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
9d2TSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,171
Images: 5
9d2TSi is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to 9d2TSi Send a message via MSN to 9d2TSi
No, you don't need it. It will help you get more power, but it's not a necessity.

My car is well, it's like 10 lbs of shit in a 5 lb bag...

<------ Click to see what I'm workin' with. ;)
9d2TSi is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 12:10 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
GASCOOBYCREW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 45
Images: 9
GASCOOBYCREW is an unknown
I just did it, you will love it. No computer mods needed but and ECUtek tune will give you big gains. I dyno'd 250hp and 260 ft/lbs.
GASCOOBYCREW is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 12:31 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
poser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 359
poser is an unknown
Quote:
No, you don't need it. It will help you get more power, but it's not a necessity.
so it can wait till I can afford it...
poser is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 12:40 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
awd>fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,746
Images: 4
awd>fwd is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to awd>fwd
You can do it. The car wont complain too much, but just dont expect neck snapping performance until you get your ECU in.

Brent
2007 Satin White STi, 1989 Nissan Sil-Coupe, 1998 Toyota 4runner (to be built..)...
awd>fwd is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 12:58 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
9d2TSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,171
Images: 5
9d2TSi is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to 9d2TSi Send a message via MSN to 9d2TSi
Quote:
Originally Posted by poser
so it can wait till I can afford it...
Yes, you can hold off on it. For me, I don't really see the "need" for engine management until you're getting ready to upgrade your fuel system to accomadate a larger turbo. Don't get me wrong though. EM's nice to have so you can tweak your cars performance a little bit as performance mods increase, but you can get by with the stock ECU for a while into your cars mod path without upgrading your ECU. You just won't be getting the most out of your set up.

Others may look at this differently, but this is just my $.02

My car is well, it's like 10 lbs of shit in a 5 lb bag...

<------ Click to see what I'm workin' with. ;)
9d2TSi is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 05:49 AM
WRXpert
 
dumdum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,800
Images: 12
dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention
Quote:
Originally Posted by poser
Lets say i start upgrading my exhaust. I'm thinking DP, CB, then UP. Do I need to upgrade the ECU for the car to run properly? or is it just a benefit that allows you to squeeze more power out of it?
Just make sure you watch your boost gauge.The main reason ,for instance Cobb, have a map for after you do a TBE is to rework the wastegate duty cycle for the EBC.You might see some spiking because of the loss of pressure behind the turbine.The turbo is going to spool much easier.
dumdum is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 08:26 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
poser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 359
poser is an unknown
Quote:
I just did it, you will love it. No computer mods needed but and ECUtek tune will give you big gains. I dyno'd 250hp and 260 ft/lbs.
So you have the ECUTek? What do you think of it?
the guy I am buying my WRX from has an ECUTek he will include in the deal for an additional $400. [the price we negociated does not include the ECU]
is that a good deal?
poser is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 08:38 PM
Ian
Moderator
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,722
Images: 9
Ian is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to Ian
Get it with the Ecutek and you will already be ahead of the game, 400 is a good price.
Ian is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
poser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 359
poser is an unknown
where and how do you get the EcuTek's "reflashed' or retuned or whatever you call it. I won't need it for a while but I would like to get it retuned after I get my exhaust.
poser is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-27-2006, 10:00 PM
Ian
Moderator
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,722
Images: 9
Ian is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to Ian
Your best bet is to find a Ecutek tuner in your area. Here is a list for you to check http://www.ecutek.com/pricing/ The US listing is towards the bottom
Ian is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On