Subaru WRX Forum banner

Maximum Boost?

3K views 21 replies 9 participants last post by  nick4592 
#1 ·
hey guys! i am a noob to the site and new to the Subie world. i just got a quick question for ya'll. What the maximum amount of boost i can put on my stock EJ20T? oh btw its an automatic. i dunno if that matters or not cause i dont know how well the auto's are built. thanks alot for your help.

#10 ·
Without any kind of tuning don't do go over 15psi on the stock turbo..you should buy some sort of EM before you do anything power mod wise to your car.

What CFM would that be Lucky :rolleyes:

also having an auto does not hold you back from what the engine can handle but only what you should/could run with out doing damage to the tranny.
No....you are right...an auto doesn't stop the motor from making Crank HP....but it does and will hurt WHP, Spool, and Launching. In driving a stock EJ20 Auto I found it to be very laggy and under powered.

#9 ·
Yes i know he is talking about the stock turbo but i was just informing because there was some incomplete info.

The stock tranny should be able to hold the amount of power you will make on a mostly stock car. It isnt the power per-say that will kill the tranny is how you use the power. I would think that if you drove halfway nicely then it should be able to hold an extra 40hp or so. I wouldnt try to make alot of power out of an auto like this, just because it will cost alot more to beef up the tranny...sell and learn to drive a 5 speed or just keep as a everyday car and buy a second fun car that is manual.

#11 ·
Yes i know he is talking about the stock turbo but i was just informing because there was some incomplete info.

...sell and learn to drive a 5 speed or just keep as a everyday car and buy a second fun car that is manual.