Higher Temp, Less boost - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 12-31-1969, 07:00 PM Thread Starter

Gerlando is an unknown
I'm no expert here,.. but temperature will definately effect your boost. Colder air is denser to begin with right ? :wink: With an MBC you definately need to monitor your boost levels at all times but especially when there are temperature changes.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 12-31-1969, 07:00 PM
rex
WRXtuners Member

rex is an unknown
I don't think that hte air temp should make a difference for a manual boost controller, it works on pressure only. The colder air is more dense, which means more air will be moved into the intake at the same pressure, but that shouldn't effect the boost pressure seen. The way a MBC works is to bleed off controlled amounts of pressure to the wastegate, which effectivly tricks the wastegate into tripping at a higher compressor outlet boost pressure.

I'm not sure why your boost pressure would all of a sudden drop. Do you have a boost leak somewhere? Could the boost gauge of been adjusted? Maybe try to readjust your boost to 16.5psi, and see if it stays at that boost when the temps change. If it keeps on shifting with temp it might be a bad seal on the MBC.

Let me know what you find, I'm kind of curious.
post #3 of 9 Old 12-31-1969, 07:00 PM
WRXtuners Member

nekard is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to nekard
I have only heard that there are some problems with the TurboXS unichip's ability to adjust to different air temperatures. The problem might be in the unichip trying to adjusted the MAF sensor to compensate for the temp change but you got me. Call Mark.

2002 Silver WRX
Link Programmable ECU, TurboXS Stainless Steel Turbo-back exhaust, TurboXS BOV Type H, Black Samco Intercooler Hoses, 17x7.5" Rota Steel Grey Subzeros with Kumho Esta 235/45/R17 tiresPioneer Dehp9300
post #4 of 9 Old 12-31-1969, 07:00 PM
WRXtuners Member

elgorey is an unknown