Fmic - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 04-27-2005, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 26
stvWRX is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to stvWRX
Fmic

Hey guys,

I'm thinking of getting an FMIC ... but I've been reading some threads on here of ppl saying there lag on a "stock" setups would be bad ...

I know about turbos and supercharges ... and I know how they make power ... but I can't for the life of me, figure out why an FMIC on a stock car would be bad ... can some please explain this to me

thanks

- Steven
stvWRX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-27-2005, 10:41 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 111
Mark S. is an unknown
The only thing you will actually notice on a stock car with a FMIC is more lag. The stock TMIC is pretty free flowing and suits the stock turbo nicely. A FMIC on a stock car won't give you more power because all it is doing is cooling the air, which the TMIC already does an acceptable job of. It cannot increase the amount of air or fuel going into the engine, which is how power is made anyways. A good FMIC is only really necessary with a larger turbo when it will be sucking alot more air through, and that larger volume of air needs to be cooled.

Mark
Mark S. is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-27-2005, 10:44 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,591
Images: 15
Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to Cosmo
It does cause a significant increase in lag. I have tried it and put one on another car as well. Both have same results.

Other than that, no real problems. No gains either, however. If you want to make power, there are much better places to spend your money.
Cosmo is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-27-2005, 11:21 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
subiewood is an unknown
fmic

Quote:
Originally Posted by stvWRX
Hey guys,

I'm thinking of getting an FMIC ... but I've been reading some threads on here of ppl saying there lag on a "stock" setups would be bad ...

I know about turbos and supercharges ... and I know how they make power ... but I can't for the life of me, figure out why an FMIC on a stock car would be bad ... can some please explain this to me

thanks

- Steven
i have a stock turbo and when i didnt have a complete exhaust the lag was pretty bad i have a tuboxs fmic and i have no problems im also boosting at 17psi with no tune and are gettting high 13 so dont listen to any but your self if u want a front mount then get one cause it sets u up when u want to go biiger
subiewood is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-28-2005, 08:26 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,591
Images: 15
Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to Cosmo
Quote:
Originally Posted by subiewood
im also boosting at 17psi with no tune
That's why you don't have as much lag.

Thats's also why you won't have an engine too much longer....
Cosmo is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-28-2005, 01:26 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Posts: 73
dmitri is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by subiewood
i have a stock turbo and when i didnt have a complete exhaust the lag was pretty bad i have a tuboxs fmic and i have no problems im also boosting at 17psi with no tune and are gettting high 13 so dont listen to any but your self if u want a front mount then get one cause it sets u up when u want to go biiger
1/4 times have nothing to do with lag. The fastest imports in the 1/4 have turbos that kick in at 5k RPMs+, which isn't realistically "streetable". Not saying FMIC's are useless, just that that's a bad way to guage..
dmitri is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-29-2005, 06:38 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
subiewood is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmo
That's why you don't have as much lag.

Thats's also why you won't have an engine too much longer....
ive been boosting this much for a coulpe of years now and havent blown it up thats why i have a egt gauge
subiewood is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-30-2005, 05:30 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,591
Images: 15
Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to Cosmo
An EGT gauge has nothing to do with it. Many people claim that they know their engine is tuned right because of EGT readings. While it's true that lean conditions can cause higher EGT's, so can retarded timing. You can keep the fuel the same, and increase or decrease timing and change the EGT's. A wideband O2 gauge is the only safe way to know.
Cosmo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome