Subaru WRX Forum banner

ECU before exhaust?

2K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  hondaeater 
#1 ·
I have a 2005 WRX that I got in May. I love the car so much, and practically never get out of it. But each time I do, I walk away wishing it was faster. I'm new to wrx's and car modding in general. I've read alot of the newbie and FAQ posts, as well as the guide to modding. However, with that said, I want power, and I want it soon. According to the guide, turboback exhaust is the first step. The thing is, all of my research has informed me that from an ECU like the cobb, ecutek, or vishnu I could get 30 or more horsepower from the moment of installation. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I was under the impression that a catback would give 5-10 hp max, and a downpipe would give me 12-15, more. So my question is, can I get an ECU first, or should I get a catback, downpipe, uppipe, etc, first.
In addition, there are so many brands, I don't know where to start. I know the popular products from talking to other wrx drivers and looking at forums on this site and others. Do any of you have any advice on which products to get? I want the best, the absolute best, and I'm willing to spend the money. I would rather pay top dollar and have each new part be the best quality, than getting a lot of cheaper products at once. This is my first post so I'm just trying to get my name out there on the forums. I would appreciate feedback as I know there is so much I can learn. Thanks.

#5 ·