Subaru WRX Forum banner

E85?

38K views 32 replies 13 participants last post by  schafech 
#1 ·
So I am thinking of getting tuned to E85 and was just wondering who is all running this and what are their setups? Also what are the advantages and disadvantages that youve seen?
Thanks

#2 ·
I was looking into this as well. I am no expert, but I can share what little I found out.

I do believe you will need to have a higher flowing fuel pump and larger injectors to run E85. You end up having to burn more fuel (MPG goes down 20to 30%) however the price per gallon is cheap enough that you still save money. This is assuming the price per gallon of E85 remains cheaper at a higher % versus gas, then the % decrease of fuel economy. I believe you see an increase in HP if properly tuned as well.

Other than the price of a new pump, injectors, and tune. I really don't see any con. Except maybe the limited availability of E85? And I'm not sure if any problems have come up with the E85 being more corrosive on the stock fuel lines and tank???

Hopefully that helps some and someone that has done this chimes in to shed further light on the subject.

#3 ·
There are a few guys on here that are running E85 hybrids. I think most of them are running a different turbo as well. I think you need a ton of more air; more so than more fuel to get the E85 to burn properly. But, I could be wrong. I just remeber watching a tv show and they had to put a huge carb on a motorcycle for it to burn E85 properly. Could be wrong. Hopefully one of those members will see this thread and shed the proper light on this.

#5 ·
cameron over at camtuning.com is running his Blouch Dominator 4 turbo with the E85...on his 06 wagon...says he likes it so far...burns cooler and uses alot more fuel....he should be posting up new dyno numbers for it next week he says on his site

#10 ·