Does the ECU adapt after installing an AP? - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 10-04-2005, 06:27 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Ronnzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 93
Images: 4
Ronnzi is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to Ronnzi
Does the ECU adapt after installing an AP?

Just curious - my Accessport will be here any day now and thinking about it, it just doesn't make sense to me. I've heard people complain that they're cars have adapted after remapping and that they have to constantly reset but how would that happen? Doesn't the AP completely remap the code, thus getting rid of the adaptability of the ECU? Wouldn't it just be set to run according to the map at all times?

Sorry, might seem obvious and I could be wrong, but I would assume the adaptability of the ECU would be software based and thus would not be a factor after a remap. Anyways, thanks.

Oh yeah, after remapping, if it does take time to adapt, how long does it usually take before I will be feeling the full benefits of the Stage 2 map. Will I notice a big difference over just the TBE and uppipe (without EM) that I had before?
Ronnzi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-04-2005, 06:48 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Jave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,577
Images: 6
Jave is more helpful than not
to answer the last part of your post, YES, you will notice a big difference going from a TBE to Stage 2. Launching my car with TBE only got s chirp from the tires, now I get some actual wheel spin and black marks

▼SbiΣ Mi▼
Jave is offline  
#3 Old 10-04-2005, 06:53 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
nick4592's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,030
Images: 9
nick4592 is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to nick4592 Send a message via MSN to nick4592 Send a message via Yahoo to nick4592
That's one I really like about our cars...our the stock ECU adapts to how we drive and how the engine reacts to mods.

"Life's a bowl of punch so go ahead and Spike it!" -311
nick4592 is offline  
#4 Old 10-07-2005, 09:52 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
insanity500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 213
Images: 6
insanity500 is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to insanity500
What would be the reason to reset the ECU (stock)
Would it hurt anything by resetting the ECU so often?

-Chris
insanity500 is offline  
#5 Old 10-07-2005, 10:00 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Jave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,577
Images: 6
Jave is more helpful than not
wouldnt hurt it at all.

▼SbiΣ Mi▼
Jave is offline  
#6 Old 10-11-2005, 09:44 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 16
Images: 1
edboz is an unknown
From what I understand from the AP documentation the ECU can only be re-flashed a finite amount of times (around 100). Resetting the base-map from stage-x to stock and back to stage-x every couple of weeks would approach 100 pretty quick.
edboz is offline  
#7 Old 10-11-2005, 10:56 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Ronnzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 93
Images: 4
Ronnzi is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to Ronnzi
Yeah, I think the innovation behind realtime map switching is the fact that you don't have to reflash the base map, which is finite. By using the realtime map switching ability, while you can't take advantage of a few features in the maps, it provides a way to effectively use different maps without having to use one of your "100" reflashes.
Ronnzi is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On