Do i need an Oil Cooler??? - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 02-03-2013, 09:33 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7
wrx747 is an unknown
Do i need an Oil Cooler???

I have an 02 wrx EJ205 stock turbo pushing 18psi i take it to the track sometimes. I had a cracked radiator so i bought an aftermarket one but it has an oil cooler for an auto trans. built in to it but i have a manual so i dont need the cooler for the trans. can or should i use it for an engine oil cooler??
wrx747 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 02-03-2013, 11:21 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,355
Images: 9
brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to
Garage
Nope.

Oil coolers are only for competitive level road racing where your oil temps will get high enough to warrant one. Do you have an oil temp gauge?
brfatal is offline  
#3 Old 02-03-2013, 03:47 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7
wrx747 is an unknown
Ya my oil doesnt get much above 112F but i have the oil plug that has a sensor in it and the wire got ripped out do you know where i could find one? supposedly subaru discontinued it
wrx747 is offline  
#4 Old 02-03-2013, 05:15 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 324
BoostinChick is a helpful contributing member
Garage
I don't have an oil cooler and I do track events (HPDE)...just saying. Spend your money elsewhere.

- Sandra
2007 WRX TR | Stage 2 | PAR Gearset (Built by AndrewTech)
BoostinChick is offline  
#5 Old 03-07-2013, 08:39 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Boosted25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 5
Boosted25 is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by brfatal View Post
Nope.

Oil coolers are only for competitive level road racing where your oil temps will get high enough to warrant one. Do you have an oil temp gauge?
agreed.
just make sure you always have fresh quality oil (I run rotella t6) and make sure your not low and that will be all you need.
Boosted25 is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On