BOV Issue - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 04-11-2011, 11:02 PM
WRXtuners Member

04psmwrx is an unknown
BOV Issue

hey guys im new to the subaru world but im not new to bovs and aftermartket parts. I bought an 04 wrx completely stock with 135000 miles on it. the ca had a blown head gasket and blown turbo I ended up buy the car for a little over $4,000. I ended up having a brand new ej205 motor put in. everything is brand new turbo seals everything. I bough a hks bov limited edition and put it on. I got the Flange that bolts up to the tmic. after i installed you i started noticing some weir things. my car was idleing crappy and you can't hear the bov unless your above 7k rpms and even then its super quite. my question is do i need a cobb ap to tune it or am I missing a gasket some where? I'm also wanting to do a hks carbon ti catback would I need the AP for that?

here is a little history of my car background.
my first car was a 1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX i bought the car stock in 2008 from a 60 year old man with 50,000 miles on it. when I got the car I put on a huge FMIC custom turbo back exhaust a greddy rs bov and an hks intake. not long after that i upgraded the turbo i put on a evo iii and walbro fuel pump. in the summer of 2010 i decided it was time to reallt get serious with the car so i had a full motor built and everything upgraded ill put the list of everything below
6 bolt swap
Manley Platinum Pistons
Manley "Turbo Tuff" I-beams
ARP 2000 Rod Bolts
ACL Tri-Metal Race Main & Rod Bearings
ATI Super Harmonic Damper

.5mm Oversized Stainless Valves
Manley Valve Springs
Manley Titanium Retainers
Manley Valve Locks
ARP Head Studs
Mitsu MLS Headgasket
Brian Crower Stage 3 280* Cams
Unorthodox Cam Gears
Unorthodox Underdrive Pulley Set
Prothane Motor Mounts
Taylor 10.44mm Plug Wires
BR8ES Plugs

Forced Performance 3065 Turbo
Tial 44mm External Wastegate
Tial 50mm Blow Off Valve
Forced Performance Race Exhaust Manifold