Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Bolt-On Tech (EJ205 2.0L '02-05 WRX) (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f52/)
-   -   Boost surge (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f52/boost-surge-32091/)

blazinbret 02-24-2012 02:33 PM

Boost surge

So I'm new to the Wrx world. I just got a 02 and I put a grimmspeed boost controller aem intake hks bov and exhaust. I noticed when do a 3rd gear pull its goes to 20 pounds to 15 then to 12 then just like bounces back and forth to 12 to 15 pounds is this normal. What can I do to fix or will tune help that problem and what kind tune or programmer is good for these cars

Sent from my LG-P925 using AutoGuide.com App

brfatal 02-24-2012 02:47 PM

Why the boost controller?

blazinbret 02-24-2012 03:12 PM

I got it for 50 new and help first and second pull more boost and pulls more boost then stock did but stock one still did the surging thing just from like 10 to 14 pounds

psinuse 02-24-2012 04:33 PM

[quote=blazinbret;276113]So I'm new to the Wrx world. I just got a 02 and I put a [SIZE="4"][COLOR="Lime"]grimmspeed boost controller aem intake hks bov and exhaust.[/COLOR][/SIZE] I noticed when do a 3rd gear pull its goes to 20 pounds to 15 then to 12 then just like bounces back and forth to 12 to 15 pounds is this normal. What can I do to fix or will [SIZE="4"][COLOR="Red"]tune help that problem[/COLOR][/SIZE] and what kind tune or programmer is good for these cars [/quote]

What's highlighted in green is your problem and what's highlighted in red is your answer...

turmic 02-24-2012 06:08 PM

And it sounds like its the Grimmspeed MBC or is it the Grimmspeed 3 port bcs?

blazinbret 02-24-2012 07:08 PM

Its the 3 port bcs

BLAZE2099 02-24-2012 08:12 PM

Please take that stuff off your poor car until you get a tune.
Or at the very least, get rid of the crappy HKS BOV. HKS is a great name, but the BOV's dont belong on our cars. I guarantee your car will run better when it has its stock BPV back on.....