Air Intake kills wrx turbos? - Page 2 - Subaru WRX Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#16 Old 02-21-2005, 06:39 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 103
BigJoe68 is an unknown
I am going to listen to you guys, i just love the sound of intakes...Thats why im askin all these questions. So if the short ram has no problems, then i would be buying it just for the sound. If it wont hurt my car isnt that ok?
BigJoe68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#17 Old 02-21-2005, 07:55 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
imbeterthanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 975
Images: 4
imbeterthanu is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to imbeterthanu
yeah, its fine. i have a short ram in mine. the turbo is A LOT louder.
imbeterthanu is offline  
#18 Old 02-22-2005, 02:32 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 103
BigJoe68 is an unknown
What kind of short ram are you using...AEM?
BigJoe68 is offline  
#19 Old 02-25-2005, 01:39 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 31
Images: 9
WRX KY is an unknown
I have a CAI on my 03 and works great. Not only does the turbo sound better, but it feels like it picked up a few ponies also.
WRX KY is offline  
#20 Old 02-25-2005, 02:11 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,591
Images: 15
Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to Cosmo
I'm sure it did. That's because an engine running lean makes more power. Put an AFR gauge on there and see what it reads....
Cosmo is offline  
#21 Old 02-25-2005, 03:19 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
THE ONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
THE ONE is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRX KY
I have a CAI on my 03 and works great. Not only does the turbo sound better, but it feels like it picked up a few ponies also.

I bought my car with the injen CAI already installed. I drove it like that for a day or so before I installed the downpipe(injen) and bosal cat-back. My car drives great! My question is if my car had the stock intake, would I be making more power? And is my car in danger of having any problems?
THE ONE is offline  
#22 Old 02-25-2005, 03:30 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
THE ONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
THE ONE is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmo
I'm sure it did. That's because an engine running lean makes more power. Put an AFR gauge on there and see what it reads....

so the way my car is set up right now. --CAI(INJEN),Downpipe(INJEN),bosal cat-back) my car is not getting the right a/f ratio. I also asked another question on this any help on my both questions would be great. Thanks
THE ONE is offline  
#23 Old 02-25-2005, 04:53 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
imbeterthanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 975
Images: 4
imbeterthanu is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to imbeterthanu
CAI tend to make our cars run lean, if u dont have EM(utec AP) so u can tune it. also if u want to run a FMIC ull have to go with short ram.
imbeterthanu is offline  
#24 Old 02-25-2005, 06:18 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,591
Images: 15
Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to Cosmo
Well, the thing is, there is no guarantee of how your car will run with a CAI. It makes the MAF get inconsistent airflow, so sometimes your car will be fine, sometimes very lean, sometimes in between. But, when it does change the AFR, it changes it leaner.
Cosmo is offline  
#25 Old 03-01-2005, 04:36 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 31
Images: 9
WRX KY is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by imbeterthanu
CAI tend to make our cars run lean, if u dont have EM(utec AP) so u can tune it. also if u want to run a FMIC ull have to go with short ram.
APS makes a FMIC that can be used with CAI. Just ordered one.
WRX KY is offline  
#26 Old 03-02-2005, 07:34 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,591
Images: 15
Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to Cosmo
I hope you didn't order the APS intake. If so, get your money back. We tried it on 3 different cars here, and it was the worst performing intake I have ever seen. Which is strange, since APS makes such good stuff. We could never get the AFR right in any of the cars. And, that intake caused a CEL on all of the cars we tried it on. On my car, it made my AFR run in the 15's....
Cosmo is offline  
#27 Old 03-03-2005, 09:01 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 31
Images: 9
WRX KY is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmo
I hope you didn't order the APS intake. If so, get your money back. We tried it on 3 different cars here, and it was the worst performing intake I have ever seen. Which is strange, since APS makes such good stuff. We could never get the AFR right in any of the cars. And, that intake caused a CEL on all of the cars we tried it on. On my car, it made my AFR run in the 15's....
I didn't order their CAI, I am keeping the one already on my car. Hopefully it won't conflict the the FMIC.
WRX KY is offline  
#28 Old 03-03-2005, 11:33 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,591
Images: 15
Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to Cosmo
If your intake goes into the fender well, you can't use it with a FMIC.
Cosmo is offline  
#29 Old 03-03-2005, 12:32 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 31
Images: 9
WRX KY is an unknown
I'm not so sure about that, because the APS FMIC goes down and then back up so that you can keep the OEM fog lights, and my CAI goes down and then straightens out toward the bumper vents.
WRX KY is offline  
#30 Old 03-03-2005, 01:57 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,591
Images: 15
Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful Cosmo is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to Cosmo
Well, I have the APS FMIC on my car, and a CAI won't fit with it. Wouldn't fit with the Hyperflow FMIC I had before it either.
Cosmo is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On