2002 impreza 2.5 rs transmission swap - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 11-11-2016, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

AndyDrifter89 is an unknown
2002 impreza 2.5 rs transmission swap

hello everyone! I am new to SUBARU's and need help even videos on taking out the transmission and installing a new one im about to get my hands on. any help would be appreciated thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 11-14-2016, 06:23 PM
WRXtuners Member

Ruso is more helpful than not
Garage
I got no video for you and my car is totally different but here's how it went for me:

-Loosen front lugs (just a little so you can get them off later)
-Pick up the car about 14" on all four corners on stands (in my case it was solid pavers (not cinder blocks))
-Drain tranny fluid (You'll need the right size, HUGE torx bit)
-Remove Downpipe
-From the rear of the car, disconnect driveshaft (three or four small bolts by rear diff)
-Disconnect tranny mounts (I completely removed the whole black metal mount)
-Disconnect shifting linkage
-Remove front wheels
-On my car I was able to remove the castle nut underneath the car and pop the ball joint on my lower control arm (using a jack to slowly release the strut tension)... not the best way to do it but you don't have to worry about alignment issues due to removed struts. There's a trick to popping the ball joint. Jack up the suspension by the castle nut, this will allow an object (such as a correctly sized socket or bar stock) to be put between the lower arm and the ball joint (this is hard to explain but you'll see). Then you just release the jack tension and it should pop the ball joint without a special tool.
-The above gives just enough clearance to pull the axles out of the tranny and swing them toward the rear of the car and out of the way (I used a pry bar VERY CAREFULLY).