16G turbo, what is needed? - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 03-26-2010, 09:56 PM
WRXtuners Member

technine is an unknown
16G turbo, what is needed?

I am new to WRX, but not new to turbos in general. I use to be a Honda Turbo guy and had a few turbo hondas. They were fun, but I got sick of front wheel drive no traction until 3rd and all the problems that come with turboing a car that wasn't really meant to be turbo'd (even though they were really quick, cheap, fun cars).

I have a 04 WRX with Greddy cat back, pretty much all stock. I've been researching as much as I can and I have come to the conclusion that I will need a bigger turbo (thing is tiny). I have thought upgrading to a nice 16G turbo and get a better downpipe + tune (either accessport or tatrix cable and laptop at a tuner).

My question is do I need anything else? Are the injectors enough to handle 270awhp? Will I need to upgrade to larger injectors? What about fuel pump? TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-26-2010, 10:26 PM
WRXtuners Member

turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to
Send a message via AIM to turmic
If your running a map. You'll need what the map calls for. Otherwise, You'd be severly holding the turbo back without including 650cc or 750cc injectors, a fuel pump, a larger TMIC, and a Protune.

Kirt
378awhp/373wtq Custom Dom 3 & CBRD tuned 2006 STI.
"When in doubt...flat out" - Colin McRae
#3 Old 03-26-2010, 10:26 PM
WRXtuners Member

RcrsWetDream is known to be trustworthy and helpful RcrsWetDream is known to be trustworthy and helpful