03 wrx bug eye - boost leak ?

26K views 35 replies 6 participants last post by  03bugeyeDude 
#1 ·
Hi everyone.. newbie here, first I'll list the car's mods

FMIC
3" Catback exhasut
Uppie pipe
AEM CAI

I know this been questioned/answered lots of times but I think every case it's different.
I purchased the car a few months ago during winter. I've read 00-03 bug eyes stock boost is around 14 psi but Im only boosting 8-9 psi in every gear but I've noticed (i tried twice) that on 3rd gear at high rpm it will go past 9 and it will reach 14 psi, the 2nd time I tried I got a check engine light got scared reset the ecu and went away. I know i def need a tune since the car came with all these aftermarket parts I only drive the car once a week since I walk to my job... you guys think I have a boost leak, vacuum leak. I even heard about a restrictor pill inside the vacuum lines ...could that be the problem?... !Cry!!Cry!
is there any vacuum line diagram I can download so i check the vacuum lines are installed the right way?

thanks in advance
Jay

See less See more
#2 ·
So you still have the stock downpipe?

Do you have a way to check for boost leaks? ie... boost leak tester, compressor and soapy water in a spray bottle?

Any local meets around your area? This might be your best bet if you can't find any boost leaks

#8 ·
Im getting low boost in all gears, the only way to get 13-14 psi is when Im on 3rd gear at high rpm and I floor it brfatal...

I dont think the car has to be tune for 14psi since I've read the 02-03 wrxs stock boost is 13-14 psi.... yeah the car came with a FMIC "3 dowwpipe /exhaust catless ....
I even had to fix the vacuum lines once I got the car because the lines were all installed the wrong way.. I wasnt getting any vacuum air flow... Someone even told me the wastegate might be messed up....

#11 ·