Which WRX to get? - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 02-29-2008, 09:25 PM
WRXtuners Member

vegaspsyco is an unknown
Which WRX to get?

Within the next 2 or months or less I'm planning on selling my car (getting about 17500+) and am trying to decide which Subaru Impreza to get. I want a wagon for the extra space and sleeper capability and definitely need a manual transmission. I would have as my daily driver (less then 40 miles a day) and would like to have it be faster then lightly modded STI's and EVO's. I don't need ridiculous HP and want good MPG (which is why I'm selling my car). I already have a list of parts I'm thinking about getting (Ive been researching for a few months and they add up to about $2-3K), if you want to know what they are and think they're relevant let me know and I'll make a basic list.

Option 1: 2004-2005 Impreza wagon (cheaper so I can have the 2.5 engine and add a turbo)
Option 2: 2004-05 WRX wagon (already has turbo for easier mods but only 2.0)
Option 3: 2006-07 Impreza wagon (moonroof possible, 2.5 and add a turbo)
Option 4: 2006-07 WRX wagon (more expensive, moonroof possible, 2.5 w/turbo, no money for a while for mods)

Is it easy and relatively cheap to add a turbo to a NA engine compared to buying one w/turbo and upgrading?
Should I get the 06-07 over the 04-05 for the bigger engine, but have less money for upgrades?

P.S. I'm not trying to be mean to the bug eye owners but I rather spend the money and get a newer car and I read somewhere that 04+ have better stock suspension parts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-29-2008, 10:14 PM
WRXtuners Member

MilesFox is an unknown
if you are going the turbo route it would be easier to upgrade the 2.0 turbo than to slap a turbo on the 2.5, as far as compression and engine management is concerned.

basically, an already turbo is less likely to blow up than a higher compression n/a motor with a turbo, without swapping around heads or internals.