Subaru WRX Forum banner

Subaru WRX cost

2K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  wrxtim 
#1 ·
Hello. I was wondering what the cost and upkeep of a wrx is compared to my current car. As of right now, i own a 2005 mustang with about 110000 miles on it. It looks like its in perfect condition. But recently repairs have been pricey whether i do it myself or use a shop. Im questioning the reliability a bit. i loved wrxes and stis so im looking to get one. Some info before you answer. Im a pizzahut delivery driver working between 30 to 40 hours a week driving. Ive Put on approx 10k to 13k miles since i started working in august/September. I would have approximately 8-10000 to spend since i would be able to sell my car for thay much.
thanks!
-Andrew

#2 ·
Cost of upkeep depends alot on the condition of the car you get. If you keep everything stock the upkeep cost is pretty standard. They are turbo charged so there is some extra wear and tear that isntr nessessariy there on NA vehicles but everything is realtive. The EJ platform also has some great longevity. You wont have a hard time finding a 10 year old WRX that still in great shape.

As for the actual maintenance items

Synthetic oils, OEM oil filters, 3,000 mile oil change intervals

You do have an extra part to service with all wheel drive cars, thats the rear differential.

You also cant get away with only buying 2 tires at a time so that may be viewed as an additional cost.

Other than that you take care of it and it will take care of you. I think Subarus own statistics are that 96% or all Suabrus built in the last 10 years are still on the road, so theres something good to say there.

#6 ·