Subaru WRX Forum banner

New to this: Bought 2007 WRX: Stock eveything, except for high-intake filter...

906 views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  titter 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm new to this so forgive me for my ignorance, I'm learning as much as I can in a short amount of time.

I recently bought a (rebuilt status) 2007 WRX Sedan that is totally stock except for an after-market high-intake filter. It's after-market because it was cheaper for the seller to install that rather than stock.

I also went ahead and installed a Borla Hush cat-back exhaust, pretty much because they are cool and from my understanding is a good first mod.

My dilemma:

From what I've read, the high-intake filter is NOT a good mod to have until I have other mods that support it well (such as improved fuel injectors) and in fact can cause damage to my engine without these other mods.

Furthermore: I've noticed after installing the exhaust, notably worse performance than stock, which is also, from hat I've read, to be expected until I tune the car. I bought a Tactrix cable for this purpose, but haven't used it quite yet.

My questions is: should I replace the high-intake filter for a stock one until I make the necessary mods to support it, or can I tune the car in its current state to either prevent damage or get more power than I am currently getting? Also, should I absolutely be installing the proper gauges (boost, o2) in the car before flashing it at all? I am not interested in getting a lot of power here, I'd be happy with the same feel as stock even.

I'd appreciate some thoughts. Thanks!

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
injectors i NOT something you need for an intake. whoever told you that is wrong. injectors are for fueling when you add a bigger turbo or change the type of fuel (race gas, e85, etc)

the amount of extra air that an aftermarket intake adds will never be enough to need new injectors.