Subaru WRX Forum banner

Need future advice! Please unload.

2K views 17 replies 4 participants last post by  arcticscythe 
#1 ·
Hey all, lets get to the point. I'm looking to buy a 2002 or 2003 WRX sedan for my first car. Before you absolutely diminish me on how this is a terrible choice (not experienced enough, insurance, blah blah. At least here me out). Ive been driving for 2 years (Trucks and Cars of different sizes) and finally feel comfortable. Im turning 19 in a few weeks. Getting to the tips part. A 2002 or 2003 obviously is not going to be found brand new unless extremely lucky and most will have over 100,000 miles (or about 162,000 km give or take) on it. So Im just wondering what I should do since im buying used. I have already checked a different thread that told me everything I should check before buying but lets say I want to engine swap, which should I go for? I'm not a car mechanic nor do I have extreme knowledge on the parts of the car besides the basics, I do though hope to soon learn more. I am not purchasing this car so I can "stance" it or make it "hella flush". I just love Subaru and feel I should get an old but nice one since im in love with the bug eyes ;) Other then that do you guys have tips on how I can learn more about upgrading the car parts? I mean if its really in a condition where it needs minimal replacements sure Ill do it (like clutch, shifter, brake fluid, clutch fluid, etc)

#3 ·
Thanks! I mean, I am fairly young and most adults don't trust us teens/young adults with wrx's and sti's and to be honest I don't blame them but I find it a bit unfair that everyone should be judged that way. I am a very responsible driver and even I am backing down from an 06 STi till I have more experience.

#4 ·