• 1 Post By mod-it
  • 1 Post By brfatal
  • 1 Post By Scotte549

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 01-21-2014, 05:13 PM
WRXtuners Member

mod-it is an unknown
Issues with taking a test drive?

I'm a student at a local college, and went in to my local Subaru dealer to test drive a WRX to see how it feels. Basically, they told me that I would not be able to drive one until we had worked out a sale. The reasoning he gave me was pretty unclear, but what I got out of it was that they were selling so well that they didn't want to let anybody drive them... Even though they had about 4 of them on the lot that I saw, plus an STI and a pre-owned one.
I've never interacted with a Subaru dealer, but I've test-driven numerous cars by myself at a variety of other dealerships, and never encountered this issue. Is this something that is specific to this dealer? If so, I'll probably have to end up either driving two hours back home to visit that dealership, or else reconsider the WRX all together.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-21-2014, 05:38 PM
WRXtuners Member

dirtydeeds02 is an unknown
I had the same issue, after I put a down payment there was no issue.
#3 Old 01-21-2014, 05:51 PM
WRXtuners Member

mod-it is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtydeeds02 View Post
I had the same issue, after I put a down payment there was no issue.
Well my issue is that I'm not sure that I want a WRX, and I don't feel comfortable putting a down payment on a car that I've never driven.
#4 Old 01-21-2014, 06:53 PM
Premium Member

the RIOT act is more helpful than not
Garage
It's because you're young, and to them look (not saying you are) like an inexperienced driver and/or someone who's not serious about buying the car.

I dealt with it when younger too. Don't take it personal. It's just them trying to protect themselves from a premature clutch job or more.