Introduction (Project Details) - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 12-11-2013, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

GTOguy is an unknown
Introduction (Project Details)

How you guys doing? As you can see, I do not own a WRX. I however, will be looking to pick up a low mile 06 in the summer to use as a donor car. My project is a 9 second Factory Five 818. The car weighs 1,800lbs and uses all the suspension and running gears of the WRX. Here are some pictures of the kit.

818 Sports Car Introduction Video - YouTube

Question time- As a complete and total newb to the WRX and boxer engines in general I have no idea how the market is for aftermarket parts. So if someone would be kind enough to answer some questions that would be great!

1-What are good sites for aftermarket engine parts?
2-How hard is it to squeeze around 400-450whp out of the 2.5 turbo?
3-What are good transmission mods to handle the power?

The kit can be completed for $15K. I'm getting a $35K loan this summer. So will I even be able to come close to my HP goal with around $16K thrown at the engine and trans? Like I said I'm a complete and total newbie when it comes to boxers (always been a V8 guy) so sorry for all the questions. Thanks to anyone that can help! Also, this car will be 100% street legal. So drive-ability is a huge factor!

GTOguy

Not a Caviler.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 12-11-2013, 11:40 PM
WRXtuners Member

psinuse is a WRX expert worth listening to psinuse is a WRX expert worth listening to psinuse is a WRX expert worth listening to psinuse is a WRX expert worth listening to psinuse is a WRX expert worth listening to
There is a year waiting list to get that kit, have you ordered it already? If not you'll probably have to wait even longer come next summer.

Resident Grumpy Old Man(Keith)
03 SRP 2.34L
08' LGT Gears...
post #3 of 14 Old 12-11-2013, 11:48 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

GTOguy is an unknown
Quote: