Intake Without Tune For 700kms - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 07-17-2010, 12:38 PM
Myz
WRXtuners Member

Myz is an unknown
Intake Without Tune For 700kms

Hey Guys

I'm totally new to Canada, Subaru & E-tunes so i'm looking for guidance.
I drive a DGM 08+ WRX Sedan which I purchased new last Nov.
It now has 6000kms on the clock & I've recently installed an AEM intake.
I've been driving with this mod for the passed week.

I also have a cobb AP but havn't installed it yet.
I'm wondering if i should install & load Stg1 Map or wait til I do the rest of my mods.

My concern comes from the fact I'll be driving approx 700kms next weekend to get my exhaust & DP installed. Since installing the intake, my car hasn't thrown any CEL codes or given any hassles so I'm not sure if i have reason to be worried or not.

Please offer some guidance
Thanks

p.s. I've spent the passed hour & a bit searching the web & this forum & finally decided to register here to get a definitive answer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-18-2010, 12:13 AM
WRXtuners Member

RcrsWetDream is known to be trustworthy and helpful RcrsWetDream is known to be trustworthy and helpful
I would wait to flash the ecu, even then, you'll be better off with a custom tune to make sure the intake is accounted for and not doing any damage. Word on the street is AEM and Perrin intakes don't mess with the maf readings, but it really hasn't been proven. I drove on my Perrin intake and stock mapping for about six months with no ill effects.

-Chris
#3 Old 07-18-2010, 02:02 AM
Myz
WRXtuners Member

Myz is an unknown
Thanks for the reply buddy.

I bought the intake from a dude that had it in his car for approx 15000kms without a tune & he had no issues.
I was just concerned about doing such a long drive without a tune.
p.s. I'm planning to do a custom tune after all my mods are done
#4 Old 08-06-2010, 10:14 PM
WRXtuners Member

LewdWRX is an unknown
Quote: