Headers - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 05-12-2017, 01:36 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

AKSubaruWA47 is an unknown
Headers

Hey everyone, I'm a bit new to the WRX scene. Just got a 2017 WRX and am looking for that Subaru rumble. I know I need different lenght headers. Any suggestions on which I should get? I wanna do headers, intake, and exaust all at the same time. Any tips or advice would be awesome. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 05-16-2017, 11:25 AM
WRXtuners Member

RoboTuner is known to be trustworthy and helpful RoboTuner is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Please read this list about what you should do first. Learn about your car, it's still very new to the market therefor maxing at "Stage 2" for now.

UEL headers are what give it the rumble, catless up pipe to be reliable. Talk to your tuner, gather all mods, then get a protune and after a road tune.

But first, please read the links I sent.
post #3 of 4 Old 05-17-2017, 02:06 AM
WRXtuners Member

Ruso is more helpful than not
Garage
In your case it would actually be a really bad idea to go UEL (even if you could, I don't believe they exist for your engine configuration).

Reason being is you have a twin-scroll turbo, which is a very nice thing but it requires equal pulses to go into both of the scrolls in the housing. It spools up much faster and produces very solid and reliable power. Not to mention the headers themselves being Equal Length produce a good amount of power just by being more efficient. I'm not even gonna go into how in an UEL one side, and one cyl in particular gets a lot more abused than the rest (when i blew my motor that side, and that particular cylinder were the first to go).

Putting on Unequal Length Headers into a twin scroll turbo would result in turbo lag and a major loss of power. Your car still has a subie rumble. Throw on a nice turbo-back exhaust and you'll be happy.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement