Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Newbie Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f51/)
-   -   Gas Consumption (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f51/gas-consumption-33499/)

VANY 01-17-2013 03:13 PM

Gas Consumption

Hello, RX tuners!
I am a new Subaru owner, I dont do any racing at all but I love fast cars particularly STI's. I was able to purchase a 07 Impreza WRX and that's fine with me! Im a daily driver, at least 70m a day, work to home, its a lot...and this is where my thread begins...i burn liked at least $180/wk of gas and according to some of my friends who has the same car, you have to be an aggressive driver, to save gas:confused: huh??? meaning, that I have to reach 3000rpm/shift so, that the turbo kicks in and apparently, it burns less gas than a normal driving. Does this makes sense to anybody there? any inputs will be much appreciated, thanks guys! and enjoy your Subies as much as i enjoy mine!!!

brfatal 01-17-2013 03:17 PM

Your friend is stupid. Be sure to disregard anything he says related to cars in the future.

You said how much you spend, but you didn't say what kind of gas mileage you're getting and what type of driving you do.

VANY 01-17-2013 03:30 PM

[quote=brfatal;289825]Your friend is stupid. Be sure to disregard anything he says related to cars in the future.

You said how much you spend, but you didn't say what kind of gas mileage you're getting and what type of driving you do.[/quote]

that's what I thought! as my calculation, 25m/g. I do daily driving work to home about 70m/day. i spent $80/wk. sorry, typo on the first one!

brfatal 01-17-2013 05:49 PM

25 mpg is exceptionally good. I haven't seen that high since a long road trip (no city miles) before they introduced E10, which killed my gas mileage by 10-20%. Most modified WRX see 20 mpg to a tank.

Fidrat 01-17-2013 06:00 PM