• 1 Post By psinuse
  • 1 Post By LW_Black4
  • 1 Post By Nathan21

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 11-18-2013, 05:13 PM
WRXtuners Member

MetalCoreDrummer is an unknown
Can't Tell Who's Lying..

Hey guys. Noob here. Possibly buying an 02 rex tomorrow.
checked the stickies... no help...
66k miles
negotiated him down to 8.5 k. Had it inspected and it has these problems so now i will not buy it for more than 6.5k.
needs 3k of maintenance:
brakes front replace (rust)
Rear brakes (rust)
axel leaking
psv covers replace (2)
timing belt (will change water pump)
brake fluid, it was really old

BONE STOCK

it looks very good on the outside, and has no rust visible on the frame (yet)

The main thing Im worried about is the rust. I live in florida, and this car has been to washington, penn, and Michigan, and has presumably seen its fair share of winters. i talked to my mechanic today and he said not to buy it because once a vehicle has been up north and had exposure to the road salt, there is no stopping the corrosion. Will i see it slowly deteriorate here in florida from those winters like other northern cars? Should i buy it?

heres a link to the craigslist ad.

SUBARU WRX TURBO silver 5 speed ONLY 66k miles

HERE'S WHAT HAPPENED TEN MINUTES AGO: So i find out that the car needs all this crap replaced. I just got a call from the seller (technically a "private seller" but the guy works for a car dealership, its his car.. just my luck..) and he's saying that everything the subaru dealership said was wrong with the car was a load of crap, and he just had his guy look over the car and it was fine. I know two things for sure:
1) the car needs a timing belt/ water pump, got quoted for 1.1k from both my mechanic and the dealership (****)
2) since there is rust on the bottom, it is a northern car.