Subaru WRX Forum banner

"Loxxy" Budget Built 08 WRX [unique/custom fabrication]

10K views 33 replies 8 participants last post by  Ruso 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello Everyone.

I guess since I requested this feature, I'll be the first to start a built post.

I'm not rich, buying a WRX has always been a dream of mine and I finally justified getting one because I live in severe snow area and get completely snowed in in the winter and have to snowmobile to my home. Also, I noticed something about other builds: it seems like a lot of people either follow the same paths and all the cars look very similar with almost identical build configurations... or they go completely custom. I've spent several years working at an Engineering company and have picked up some useful tools. I'm also an artist and in the process of building my art career so it's important for me to have things that are functional but also beautiful.

I started with a bone stock World Rally Blue wrx with 76k which I grabbed for just over 17k.

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Subaru

Build goals:
-Quality but affordable
-Daily commuter
-As much as reasonably possible custom fabrication (I don't have the skills or tools to fabricate a quality exhaust for example)
-Unique/Different than other builds
-Geared for a lot of off-road use as well as tarmac
-No shop, this is a true (gravel) shade tree build

Current Modifications (in order):
Chapter 1 -- First Winter
-Snow tires/rims
-Ram Air Intake
-Taxtrix Cable
-Stage 1 Tune
-COBB EBCS
-Learning how to tune to get boost back under control

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Snow Freezing

At this point winter came and I got snowed in. No more mods for a while :(

Snow Vehicle Car Luxury vehicle Mid-size car

Chapter 2 -- After the snow melted
-CNT Quad Tip Catback conversion (I started with a single tip)
-Rev9 Catted Downpipe
-Stage 2 Tune [Custom]
-Blacked out (tail lights, chrome accents, hood scoop, side skirts, rims)

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Rim Subaru impreza wrx sti