Subaru WRX Forum banner

Upgrade turbo

3K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  arcticscythe 
#1 ·
Currently new to imports and moding. I have a 2013 wrx sedan with few mods done such as after market exhaust, short throw shifter, and a lower kit, but my next goal it to upgrade the hp and performance. I was looking for a bolt on turbo where I can just swap and don't have to mess around with an intake or any other mods. I'm a college student and on somewhat of a budget so any help would be great.

#2 ·
thats impossible without blowing up your engine. almost every mod done to these cars needs a proper tune, let alone supporting mods

to "slap" on a larger than stock turbo, you will need, injectors, fuel pump, engine management and a bunch of other stuff. depending how big you go, you might need a intercooler as well.

then you have to consider suspension and brakes and tires. you cant have 400hp in a car without brakes/tires/suspension because you will end up dead against a wall or tree.

here is the unabombers manifesto to get you started: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=533787 read it in its entirety. on the shitter is when i get most of my reading done.

after youre done with the manifesto, heres some good info as well: http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f51/what-do-first-59649/

cheers, and happy modding!

Reactions: Carl David
#3 ·
Without having to do a bunch of supporting mods all you will need to technically do is get a 16g turbo and pro tune.

However... a turbo inlet while your in there would be a REALLY good idea.

Since you haven't laid out your end goals its hard to really give you a direction. Are you looking to do things more than once? (like go from a 16g turbo to a 20g turbo to a rotated set-up) I try my best to do things 1 and done as best I can to avoid double purchases.