Subaru WRX Forum banner

TMIC or FMIC

29K views 38 replies 8 participants last post by  synolimit 
#1 ·
got a 11 wrx and lookin at puttin either a tmic or a fmic on it...have heard good and bad bout both. I am a daily driver but want a little more outta the car. Im currently at stage 2 and im extremely happy with it but was wondering what the wonders of a larger intercooler would have....i have looked at a few brands, ams, godspeed...etc...what yall suggest?

#2 ·
If your going to invest in another intercooler other than to get away from the exploding form fitted plastic ones. I would go front mount, easy decision in my mind. Heat soak is a b****, I noticed zero difference in spool, and enough knock reduction to get another degree or 2 of timing safely and push the turbo a bit harder. Honestly the top mounts will work pretty well for the VF52, BUT if I was going to lay the cash down I would get a front mount, I ran my stock top mount until it exploded on me.
I would invest in a different fuel method first, either meth or E85 will notice much larger gains, unless you get a smoken deal on an intercooler.
-Carl

#3 ·
#4 ·
It all depends on what you want out of your car in the end. If you plan on going big on your build then go fmic, if not a nice top mount will be fine. I run a tmic with a 20g and a built motor and it works great, it's defiantly my limiting factor as of now but I'm putting down plenty of power with it. A lot of other people run a tmic wit 20g sized turbos with no problems. The nice thing about a tmic is you get to keep a sleeper look much safer in case of a front end collision and you can run any intake you want including the stock box. Like you said there are ups and downs with either one, what ever you choose will be better then the stock junk tho.

#6 ·