New to tuning, in need of some advice - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 09-22-2010, 10:11 AM Thread Starter
MMR
WRXtuners Member

MMR is an unknown
New to tuning, in need of some advice

Good morning WRX tuners!

i recently (2 months ago) acquired a 2010 WRX sedan (big fan of the rally blue WRX), and everything is still stock. I would be looking to do some soft tuning to my new baby, but i am new to this entire tuning universe, and all the guides i could find only pointed to older models of my car. If any of you peoplecould give me a few words of advice on wich parts i could buy, and in wich order you would recommend doing it, i would be very gratefull.

now on to my needs:

-ideally keep the whole project under 6000-7000$ (im aware that is quite a short budget for tuning)
-im not looking for a 450 HP monster. But the more bang i can get out of the budget, the better it will be
-i would love to have more aggresive engine sound, as i feel that my engine doesnt growl a lot (i read something somewhere about replacing the CAI and/or exhaust being the solutions to this, but they required other mods beforehand in order to not damage your engine).

So i was thinking about the following:
Perrin performance stage 2 kit
new injectors, potentially fuel pump (if stock doesnt do)
top mount intercooler and a cold air intake (Perrin package)
a turbocharger, but i do not know much about those. however im aware that they all have different specs, and i would be looking for lower-end boost and lower boost-lag possible (hence the top moint intercooler).

I would like to know if my project makes any sense, of if i did any blatant mistakes in the choosing of the parts. any feedback on those would be greatly appreciated.

I'm aware there could have been a guide posted to this somewhere in the forums, but i could not get my hands on it, so i decided to get a new thread started.

I thank you for your time, and hope i can get some good advice here!