Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Bolt-on Tech (EJ255/EJ257 2.5L 2008+ WRX, STi, and GT) (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f121/)
-   -   Exhaust/noob question (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f121/exhaust-noob-question-33485/)

Blake84 01-13-2013 08:47 PM

Exhaust/noob question

Hello all I'm new here and new to Subaru. I just recently bought my first wrx(09) and I really enjoy it. I'm wanting to put a exhaust system on it, full turbo back. I'm reading with a turbo back exhaust I'll need to do a tune. I understand and know why I'd need a tune with say a intake upgrade. But could someone shed light to as why the car would need a tune for a exhaust upgrade. I'm sorry for kicking a dead horse here. I couldn't anything to support why. Just that turbo back exhaust upgrades need a tune. Like I said I'm new to wrx's so please forgive my ignorance on the subject. :beatentod

pzr2874 01-14-2013 05:42 AM

Increase of fuel needed to support the extra flow.

Blake84 01-14-2013 05:53 AM

I'm not sure I understand. Why would the extra flow on the exhaust side require more fuel.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using AutoGuide.Com Free App

Blake84 01-14-2013 08:23 AM

If I were to go with a non cat down pipe and a mufflered exhaust or even stock exhaust would I still ned a tune? I'm just trying to get away from the stock down pipe (partially blocked waste gate).

RcrsWetDream 01-14-2013 08:38 AM

If you touch the downpipe you need to tune.

Cat-back only and you're fine.

You need to tune because aftermarket downpipes let the turbo breathe easier, and often causes the stock tune to somewhat lose control of boost causing the car to overboost. You tune to account for the change in flow, generally raising boost a few pounds and adjusting fueling to match.

Blake84 01-14-2013 08:52 AM

Thanks I was just wanting a explanation other than, you just need one. Well is there a way can get away from the factory down pipe (plate style) without needing a tune?