Subaru WRX Forum banner

2013 wrx tune question

26K views 22 replies 11 participants last post by  New WRX OWNER 
#1 ·
So I have decided I am going to buy a 2013 wrx. My question is what kind of tunes can you do for an affordable price without voiding the warranty? I do not know anything about tuning, I am just getting into driving performance cars and recently drove the wrx and fell in love with it. Basically, what can i do when I get the car for an affordable price that will give me a noticeable gain in hp but wont void the factory warranty. I have seen things such as stage one and stage two but am a little confused as so what all that is. Does Subaru themselves offer anything like this? Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
Im in the same position as u just ordered a wrx. Stage 1and 2 refer to the different stages of modification. I'm still trying to find out what will not void the warranty, from what I gather every dealer is diffrent so u shld ask them. I'm prob just going to do an intake for now.

#4 ·
Very true. However an intake is very easy to revert back to stock if it needs to be brought to the dealer for work. This forum seems to be very adamant on tuning all mods, not sure how necessary that is for an intake. I've heard strong arguments from both sides and am not sure who is correct. It may be a dumb question but why is resetting the ecu not good enough.

#6 ·
Dealers just say "abuse" and refuse to cover stuff. Warranties on sports cars are all bad. It doesn't matter how much it's modified. You can play the "it's stock, because I just put the stock stuff back on" game with them, it works sometimes. Generally, they'll decide if it's abuse or not independent of the exhaust mods on the car.