2011 Bolt-ons and what to expect? - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 08-24-2011, 09:43 PM
WRXtuners Member

thepants1337 is an unknown
2011 Bolt-ons and what to expect?

So I am a complete noob to the scene but have long been interested and am now finally able to get my subaru (big boy job...lol)!. I am planning on getting the 2011 WRX and wanted to know what I should expect out of the following mods (or even if they will work in conjuction...I think they will but who knows, I am a noob):

K&N Cold Air Intake
Cobb catback exhaust
Cobb Access Port

Those are basically what I'm starting with, and was hoping for maybe 20 hp gain from the two of them combined; is that reasonable?, and what would a tune net me w/ just those parts. I was also considering a Cobb downpipe but was a little paranoid about not passing inspection. I know I wont be getting this from bolt on's alone but I have a goal of about 340 whp after I've been putting more money into my car. I plan on getting my WRX in about 2 months time and can't wait to get crackin!

Thanks for any and all advice,
thepants
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-24-2011, 10:00 PM
WRXtuners Member

turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to
Send a message via AIM to turmic
If you are using a Cobb accessport to tune your car. Then you might want to use a AEM Intake or a Cobb SF Intake. Seeing as how those are the only two intakes that Cobb supports. Otherwise the K&N CAI will probably make your car throw a CEL. Which you would need a custom Cobb pro-tuned map to run a K&N CAI correctly. Eh...just research and read a lot before you jump to fast. The Cat-back exhaust won't do much beyond make a difference in sound. You'd have to go Stage 1 with the intake map or get the Downpipe and go Stage 2 with 93 octane. Which you'll love...