hi all - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 10-12-2007, 11:17 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

2k8baller is an unknown
Send a message via Yahoo to 2k8baller
hi all

Hi all

Im a brand newbie!!.. I have an question to ask, I live in nyc and i have an 1993 altima 5spd and since then I regretted in purchasing a 5 spd in the city and want to get an automatic. I recently saw ad for sale on a 2002 wrx wagon , automatic with 132 k miles on it. I meet up with the owner to check it out and the body had some minor dents and all the repair work and maintance was done accordly. While test driving the car I notice that turbo didnt kick in right away , I figure since it was a automatic it takes a little bit longer to push it, but I was in the street and i didnt have enough road to drive to feel the power.
So here my questions ..1)since it has a lot of miles for the car what part of the car should i look for ? 2) are there any upgrades with an automatic wrx ? and 3 ) should I just get a 5spd instead of automatic to get the most of the car? ### help me out for some advice because I need to close a deal with the seller.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 10-13-2007, 12:11 AM
WRXtuners Member

DraconisWRX is an unknown
I think I see most people say to get a compression check done among other things.
post #3 of 9 Old 10-13-2007, 04:42 AM

newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame
The automatics do spool slower/later than the 5spds. I like the 5spd cause it seems you are more "in control" of the power and the way it is delivered. But with the automatics, ont have to worry about the tranny as much if you drive it hard.
post #4 of 9 Old 10-13-2007, 06:08 AM
WRXtuners Member

TougeTuned is an unknown
Yeah The stall rate is way too high on the automatics IMO
post #5 of 9 Old 10-13-2007, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member