Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Drag Strip Tech (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f113/)
-   -   When to shift and how to shift (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f113/when-shift-how-shift-6935/)

absolutexk 02-08-2005 05:58 PM

When to shift and how to shift

I am a newbie at driving stick... so the way i shift when i am goin full throttle (i dont wanna say racing ### racing is illegal :D ), but i usually shift right b4 redline around 6500k and when i shift, i normally just drop the clutch sorta... but the nerve racking thing about doing that is everytime it engages, it makes thing (dunk) noise.. is that bad?? i mean obviously its not good, but is it damaging? i dont really push my car that often... and as far as launching, there have been some ppl telling me to rev to 4500-5000 and then DROP the clutch... but that cant hardly be a good idea... there are also other suggestions to sorta drop it but not really, kinda letting it slip.. but then doesnt that burn that clutch like crazy? I dunno, im pretty decent driving stick and its only been 2 months... unfortunately i had to learn on my WRX (poor thing)...
which actually brings me to my next question... ### EXACTLY does stalling to do that car? is it bad for the engine? i can imagine it must be bad for the tranny right? when i first bought the car, i stalled quite a few times, and i am worried that it might have crapped my brand new engine on the WRX... mayb ### i had a 98 auto BMW 328i previously, there are alot of noises that this car makes that makes me wonder about some things... mayb its just the difference between a 4 cylinder and 6 cylinder? i dunno, i guess it must be the difference between German Engineering and Japanese Engineering, not to talk bad about Japanese engineering, but just some things about German engineering that makes cars so smooth and nice....

imbeterthanu 02-08-2005 08:35 PM