Subaru WRX Forum banner

Tips for a newbie ?

6K views 32 replies 13 participants last post by  BC_Girl 
#1 ·
Hello,
I'm new to this site and I own a 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX. I've had it for 7 months. Last summer, about 1 week after I purchased the car I took it to Knoll Gas Motor Sports park in Martin, MI to see if I had what it takes. My best time was 15.12 in the quarter mile, and my best reaction time was .520. Not to float my own boat, I had some good advice from a seasoned racer, but not too shabby for a first timmer right? Anyways, I was just wondering if anyone had any advice that may benifit me. I am still learning how to get a good start, an all wheel drive clutch is different than anything I have ever driven before, but I plan to go to an open test and tune on April 5th. I have a good feeling about it because I know my car better, but I don't want to damage my car while I'm just learning. Any tips would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Sara::D

#3 ·
Thanks for the advice, but I'm confused. "You can only build boost under no load conditions when the engine is accelerating at WOT" I'm a driver, my husband is my mechanic, but neither one of us is sure what "WOT" means, could you elaborate?

#7 ·
Holy @#$%! What a difference. Had it out practicing my launch yesterday and I couldn't beleive how much power my car actually has now that I am learning how to drive it. I had to read that article a few times before I understood what I should do, but I reved it up to 3000rpm then right before I wanted to go I took it to 5000 and dropped the clutch. It launched like it had been kicked in the rear. Think I held the clutch a little too long though for fear of shock loading, because I could smell it burning. Can't do that again those things aren't cheap to replace. Anyways, thanks for the advice it really helped. Just have to get my %^&* foot off the clutch a little faster and I think maybe I should take it to 5500rpm to get a little more @#$% and get out of it.

#9 ·