Subaru WRX Forum banner

Well it finally happened

12K views 76 replies 15 participants last post by  nick4592 
#1 ·
I just found that my #3 cylinder is running low pressure (110) on my REX....which is causing some issues....so I think I am finally going to get the 2.5L bottom end and start making some real power....My only question is does anyone know where I can get a STI block for fairly cheap?

#28 ·
Hello everyone..!! I am new to the WRX world but i also had the same question that NICK did..!!! I just pulled engine out of my REX today cause i had low compression in my # 4 cylinder and # 3...so i wasn't sure what to go with either.... 2.2 stoker or STI short block.. Well i have read all your comets and now i need to decide myself on what i want to do and what kind of numbers I'm looking to get on the DYNO..!! thanks all again:D

#30 ·
I just ran into a semi closed STi block with CP pistons and cosworth bearings for 2500....I think I am going to hop on this while the hopping is good....I can get more outta this than a 2.3 stroke...

#34 ·
AuToMaN_1 said:
Hello everyone..!! I am new to the WRX world but i also had the same question that NICK did..!!! I just pulled engine out of my REX today cause i had low compression in my # 4 cylinder and # 3...so i wasn't sure what to go with either.... 2.2 stoker or STI short block.. Well i have read all your comets and now i need to decide myself on what i want to do and what kind of numbers I'm looking to get on the DYNO..!! thanks all again:D
with the STI block you could easily reach 450whp with some awesome torque and with the 2.2 stroker you could get in the high 300's with pretty good torque numbers....all in all from my research the 2.5L is the best bang for the buck...just get one that is semi closed and you should be good to go

#37 ·
AuToMaN_1 said: