STI Swap - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 01-18-2009, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

Shift_Mike is an unknown
STI Swap

hey guys i have a 2004 wrx, i bought it about a year ago, blew the motor in the 1st week...... anyways, i had a daily driver at the time and a race car so i couldnt put any cash into my subie.

Well finally landed a sweet job, i got some money now and i need to get my car going again. I want to do an STI engine and tranny swap in it and possibly upgrade the turbo.
Goal is 400+wheel im basically asking you guys what your recommendations are for me? As far as the swap goes, turbo uprade, and some kind of ems and whatever else you guys recommend, if any of you guys know a round about price estimate that would be nice (money isnt really too big of a deal now, i work on the road now and all my living expenses are paid for by my company, that being said though i am a mechanic but i wont have time to do the swap i seriously dont get days off lol so if you guys know about what labor would cost too that would be cool just so i know how much more i should save up) I want to have ron at axis tuning to do all the work because he is the closest subie tuner to me back home where im from.

thanks in advance guys, just recommend what you would do if its your own car
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 01-18-2009, 08:15 PM

newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame
Check out NASIOC, its been done several times and is better documented over there. With that engine swap you will need the ECU or a stand alone EM. And the tranny will be rather expensive also. You will need more than just the 6 speed for the car.

As far as you old engine goes, what exactly is wrong or happened to it? A hybrid build might be a choice also.

Joshua
"2007 WRX- PPG'd, 20G- Tim Bailey tuned
Stage 2 2005 WRX
Cobbtuning.com"