• 1 Post By turmic
  • 1 Post By psinuse
  • 1 Post By brfatal

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 01-27-2014, 09:53 PM
WRXtuners Member

yamahauler27 is an unknown
Safe HP range?

Hello, I'm new to this site and still fairly new to Subaru's but I've been building engines for over 15 years. I've built some monster small block and big block chevy's. I've built a few Honda engines that ran in the high 6 to low 7's on a 1/8 mile. I picked up a 2006 2.5i with a blown engine a few years back and I have lost interest in everything else but Subaru's since. I rebuilt that engine to handle NOS but never added it as I decided to keep it a daily driver. I bought an 07 STI a year later. I ported and polished the heads but it's mostly stock and I have really enjoyed it so far. I picked up an 03' WRX last week that is nearing 200,000 miles for a price I couldn't pass up. I bought it to make a project out of. I am planning to tear it down soon and rebuilding the bottom end with the strongest components available and I want to make as much HP as I can reliably get and still keep decent driveability. What would be a good figure to aim at. If possible I would like to be in the 400 to 450hp range. I would like to hear some experienced advice. I won't be pushing it very hard except for a few passes down the drag strip ever so often. Any input will be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-27-2014, 11:17 PM
WRXtuners Member

Sub14WRX is more helpful than not
Garage
For the 03 WRX?