Subaru WRX Forum banner

Rear Main Seal

29K views 28 replies 6 participants last post by  psinuse 
#1 · (Edited)
Excuse me for being a noob here but I'm replacing my rear main seal and I have a couple questions. I have taken out my transmission twice now but this is the first time I have taken my engine out. The last time I took my transmission out I replaced the rear main seal, but after I started it up and drove it it started leaking puddles shortly after. In order to install the seal last time I got a PVC endcap and tapped the PVC cap against the rear main seal in order to get it in flushly. The PVC cap is the same exact diameter as the rear main seal so it didn't get stuck on any part of the engine or anything. When I felt that I was done I went ahead and tapped the endcap a little bit harder than usual just to make sure it was in, but I still didn't hit it very hard. I'm just wondering what I did wrong last time? Is there a trick that you are supposed to do in order to have it seat correctly? Also since I pulled the engine out this time instead of the transmission I would like to replace any gaskets and seals that I can. I have ordered the valve cover gaskets, head gaskets, spark plug seals, the little corner plugs in the heads, an O-ring for my oil cooler, and camshaft seals. Are there any other seals or gaskets I could replace while its out? When I take the heads and the valve covers off is there anything I need to watch out for or anything tricky that I might overlook? Has anyone made any mistakes that I should avoid? Also when i was taking out the old rear main seal I looked at the crack where the block comes together around the crank (still looks sealed) but there was some dirt around the crack above and below where the rear main seal seats, is that normal? It definately didn't look like anything new but I'm just making sure. Thank you for all of your help in advance.