Subaru WRX Forum banner

motor ?

6K views 36 replies 10 participants last post by  LiL Shoaf 
#1 ·
ok im new to wrx and i'm thinking about getting one. i read all about how the trans dont hold up to much. But if i get one i would want to end up building the moter not swap the sti motor in there. do people do that or just buy sti motors and build those let me know thanks. i gussy what i;m asking is can you build a wrx motor to like 700 awhp or not

#2 ·
You can build the EJ20 (2.0L) with no problems as long as you keep your car tuned well...the tranny will hold up well as long as you don't treat it badly...one of my WRX's has the full STI swap with the stock 5 speed in it still (2002 model) and it has held up just fine...

What kinda power/Racing/goals do you have for the car you're going to buy?

#3 ·
Thanks dude. Well if i get one i'm thing get cat back, up pipe ,down pipe. then a utec, maybe a intake. then turn up boost. and thing that go with that then save up for a new trans/ gears then build the motor then turbo. i would like to get in to 12's at some point

#4 ·
well your on the right track with your exhaust ideas and your engine management, just stay away from boost controllers cause thats wut it sounded like u wanted...with just the exhaust and the utec and a protune your car is gonna be ridiculously faster than stock

#6 ·
Here is my input.. To do what you ask, 700whp or more obtainable.. 12s, you would be better off dropping the extra cash (1500) for the 2.5L short block. To get Big HP numbers your going to have to invest in forged internals, i.e. pistons, rods.. If your going to invest in all that work and time anyway you might as well go for the extra TQ that comes with the 2.5L block.. You can use everything else off the stock 2.0L motor, i.e. the heads, accessories, everything... I did.. I'm putting dowm over 400 now with a conservative tune and look forward to close to 600 once I get retuned.. Check out my profile for a list of mods...

#8 ·