Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Cylinder Head & Short Block (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f103/)
-   -   best rods and pistons for 02 wrx (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f103/best-rods-pistons-02-wrx-30004/)

kapnhook 12-26-2010 09:58 PM

best rods and pistons for 02 wrx

well i am new to the subaru world but not new to performance,
i have serched and cant find the amswers i want. i have an 02 wrx wagon that i bought with a bad engine,runs but knocks very loud. i intend on building the engine myself.asuming the crank rods and pistons are all junk,i would like to install a new subaru crank,with forged rods and pistons.

here are my questions,is the stock crank forged?will it hold 300whp?
what rods should i use?was looking at the eagle h beam or the manley h beam.
what pistons?was looking at weisco or je.

my goal is 300whp but i have never driven this car so i would like to build a stong bottom end,since i need one anyway,and put it together,drive it and go from there.

any help would be great thanks in advance.

brfatal 12-27-2010 11:51 AM

Just for the record, if you build this car now and intend on keeping it you will be rebuilding it again. Built motors don't last anywhere near as long due to extra wear and tear. For your goals, it's probably a better investment to get a new shortblock.

kapnhook 12-27-2010 12:31 PM

i understand that when modify it you sacrifice longgevity,but what would make a new stock short block stonger/better that one with higher quality,beter built parts?

Subbie 12-27-2010 04:25 PM

[quote=kapnhook;254616]i understand that when modify it you sacrifice longgevity,but what would make a new stock short block stonger/better that one with higher quality,beter built parts?[/quote]

Using the stock short block assuming it has no issues would be just fine. No need to waste money on a new short block.

basco 12-27-2010 05:39 PM