02 WRX engine with avcs - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 03-24-2013, 04:45 AM
WRXtuners Member

02wrxbob is an unknown
02 WRX engine with avcs

I just bought a 02 WRX that supposidly had a bad head gasket. Pulled heads to find that it has cracked heads around spark plug holes. I got a used engine from J-Spec auto sports that was listed on ebay for $1895. The thing that is puzzeling me is the sales man said I need to change my throttle body and intake. The engine that they sent me is from a newer model and it has single avcs while my original engine did not. Will this engine work for me? Can I make use of the avcs and how? Also how do i tell the differance between a usdm and jdm engine and would either one work in my 02 WRX? I have been an auto tech for 20 years, but have little experiance with subarus with the exception of a few clutch jobs and tune ups. Please help me get my WRX going.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-24-2013, 02:45 PM
WRXtuners Member

brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to
Garage
Adding AVCS will significantly add to the cost of your build. New wiring harness, intake manifold, throttlebody, pedal assembly, a bunch of sensors, ECU, possible ignition change. So you got a 2.5L motor?
#3 Old 03-24-2013, 05:31 PM
WRXtuners Member

02wrxbob is an unknown
I am not sure exactly what engine I have. I believe it is a jdm engine. Block says EJ20 and heads say RHH25 and LHH25. White ID stickers are missing. Has single avcs. Please help.
#4 Old 03-24-2013, 07:06 PM
WRXtuners Member

brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to
Garage
You bought an engine without knowing what engine it was? I suggest you find out.
#5 Old 03-24-2013, 07:50 PM
WRXtuners Member

02wrxbob is an unknown